contentsBrewton AL Chamberads



The cities of Brewton and East Brewton are each governed by a mayor and city council that meet at their respective City Halls to discuss matters and issues pertaining to our community. Escambia County is governed by a county commission and Brewton, being the largest municipality in the county, is the county seat. The other municipalities in Escambia County are East Brewton, Flomaton, Riverview, Pollard and Atmore.

Brewton and East Brewton provide their residents with quality residential services, including water, gas and trash pick-up. The Utilities and Public Works departments supervise and maintain all aspects of Brewton’s appearance, including street maintenance, drainage and pipe reparations, landscaping and beautification projects.

fire department

Currently, Brewton’s police department has 28 officers on duty. The Chief of Police and his staff are always on hand to handle any situation that may arise. The fire department is also ready to handle any emergency with 14 full-time and six volunteer firefighters on duty. The department has three large-volume pumpers housed in a central location on St. Nicholas Avenue behind historic Belleville Avenue and one housed at the airport. In addition, the county has nearly 20 volunteer fire departments in the area. Escambia County has an Enhanced 911 Emergency System which is up to task to handle any emergency to which they are called. With ambulatory services in addition to helicopter capabilities, Brewton’s emergency system is extremely capable.

East Brewton has a police department with four full-time officers and one part-time on duty led by its own Chief of Police. The fire department has four full-time firefighters and 25 volunteers. The department has two trucks, one tanker and a van, and is manned 24 hours a day to handle emergencies in East Brewton.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications