contentsDecatur AL Chamberads



Morgan County is served by three public school systems: Decatur City, Hartselle City and Morgan County Schools. These systems meet the educational needs of area students and take pride in challenging them to excel in all they do. Each has received statewide recognition for programs and offerings, making opportunities for young people as diverse as their student bodies. The area is also served by several private and parochial schools, giving families many choices for education. Each environment provides opportunities for all students to experience success and to be prepared for future education, the world of work and achieving lifelong skills.

Also in the Decatur-annexed portion of neighboring Limestone County is Calhoun Community College – the largest of 27 members in the Alabama Community College System. The college serves more than 11,300 students and offers 49 associate degree programs and 52 career/certificate programs.

The Alabama Center for the Arts is a collaborative effort by the city of Decatur, Morgan County, Calhoun Community College and Athens State University. The center – more than 44,000 square feet – is located in the heart of downtown Decatur and serves as a venue for college art instruction, community education and cultural events, and will also serve as a catalyst for the region’s creative planning and expression. Phase 2 of the Center is underway and is planned for completion in 2016.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications