contentsFlagstaff  AZ Chamberads

Government & Places of Worship


The City

City of Flagstaff services and government operations are run out of City Hall. Flagstaff has a City Manager who presides over the city under the direction of the Mayor and an elected six-member City Council. The public can attend city council work sessions or meetings on Tuesdays.

In addition to the mayoral offices and city council chambers, City Hall also houses municipal offices such as Public Works, Building Inspection, Planning and Zoning, Finance, Permits and Licenses, Sales Tax and Beautification. Parks and Recreation is now housed at the Aquaplex on Fourth Street.

The offices of the Convention and Visitors Bureau (CVB) are located in the old Milligan House across from City Hall. The CVB markets Flagstaff to the world, works to recruit filmmakers and production companies to the area and runs the city’s Visitor Center, located at the railroad station on historic Route 66.

The County

Coconino County, covering 18,608 square miles, is the second-largest in the United States. Indian reservations comprise 37 percent of the land, and are home to Navajo, Hopi, Paiute, Havasupai and Hualapai tribes. The U.S. Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management controls 32 percent of the land; the state of Arizona owns 10 percent; other public lands comprise seven percent; and the remaining 14 percent is owned by individuals or corporations.

The historic county courthouse, originally built in 1894, houses all five divisions of the Superior Court and the Flagstaff Justice Court.

The Coconino County Sheriff’s Office and the Flagstaff Police Department provide law enforcement services in Flagstaff and surrounding areas. They are located in the same building and work collaboratively with jail services. The Sheriff’s Office has two substations and six satellite offices throughout the county.

For more information, visit the county website at

Places of Worship


Flagstaff has houses of worship representing Anglican, Assemblies of God, Arizona Independent Bible Fellowship, Baptist (including Independent and Southern branches), Christian, Christian Reformed, Christian Science, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Congregational, Eastern Orthodox, Episcopal, Evangelical Free, Foursquare, Jewish, Lutheran–ELCA and WELS, Methodist–United, Non-Denominational, Pentecostal-United, Presbyterian, Religious Science, Roman Catholic, Seventh-Day Adventist, Unitarian Universalist, United Christian Ministry, United Church of Christ and Unity.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications









Uni Source Energy