contentsRussellville AR Area Chamberads


Since it was incorporated in 1870, the city of Russellville has functioned under the mayor-city council form of government. The mayor is elected to a four-year term, with each of the city’s eight aldermen elected to two-year terms. The eight aldermen represent four wards with two aldermen per ward. City commissions are made up of volunteers with an alderman as a liaison to each commission.

Russellville residents expect the best in public service, and more than 180 city employees work to meet that challenge every day. For more information please contact the Russellville Mayor's office at 209 West 2nd Street, 479-968-2098; fax 479-968-8050 or e-mail at,


Pope County is the 11th largest county in the state of Arkansas, with a population of 54,469. It is located in Northwest Arkansas, midway between Little Rock and Fort Smith. The Arkansas River serves as its south boundary and the Ozark National Forest is included in its northern boundary. The county covers 828 square miles, making it the 14th largest county in the state by square miles.

The incorporated cities and towns situated in the county are Atkins, Dover, Hector, London, Pottsville and Russellville. Russellville serves as the county seat. A County Judge and Quorum Court govern Pope County. The Quorum Court is made up of 13 Justices of the Peace presenting 13 districts. County Boards consist of Library, Ambulance Service, Facilities Board and Equalization Board. For more information on the county government please contact the Pope County Judge's office at 100 West Main Street, 479-968-7487; fax 479-967-6874,

Residents receive police protection from the Russellville Police Department and the Pope County Sheriff’s office. The Russellville Police Department is now operating under the sworn strength of 55 officers with four lieutenants, nine sergeants, and two bicycles. Two uniformed officers are assigned as School Resource Officers in the public school system. For more information, please contact the Russellville Police Department at 115 West H Street, Russellville, AR 72801; 479-968-3232. The Pope County Sheriff's Office and Pope County Jail is located in Russellville at #3 Emergency Lane. For more information please contact the Sheriff's office at 479-968-2558.

Personal safety and emergency management are top priorities of the residents of the Russellville area. The Russellville Fire Department has a fire chief, certified training officer, inspector, 52 full-time firefighters and support staff to provide fire prevention and protection. Firefighters currently work out of four fire stations strategically located throughout Russellville. The city’s insurance rating is Class Four. There are 15 volunteer fire departments located throughout Pope County that provide fire protection to all county residents. The Russellville Fire Department responds on an as-needed basis outside of the city. For more information please contact the Russellville Fire Department at 479-968-2332.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications
Ciity of Russellville