contentsSebring FL Chamberads



From north to south, the three incorporated municipalities in Highlands County include the City of Avon Park, the City of Sebring and the Town of Lake Placid, each governed by an elected mayor and council.

The City of Sebring is the county seat of Highlands County. The historic Highlands County Courthouse, dedicated in 1927, anchors a modern center of county government that includes the Sheriff’s Office, Tax Collector, Property Appraiser, County Commission offices, Planning and Zoning, and Engineering departments.

Fire station

The daily affairs of the City of Sebring are directed by a city administrator. The city employs more than 150 people, 32 of whom are full-time police officers and 23 full-time firefighters. The five members of the Sebring City Council meet the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. The meetings are broadcast on cable television, enabling all citizens to remain informed about city business.

Planning, zoning, building inspections, public safety, water, sewer and solid waste management, are all services provided by the City of Sebring, along with garbage and yard waste pick-up throughout the city.

Two full-time employees administer the daily affairs of a seven member Community Redevelopment Agency Board (CRA), all of whom are appointed by the City Council. In cooperation with other agencies and the private sector, the CRA shares responsibility for the downtown revitalization efforts.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications