contentsLee Countyads


historical marker

Lee County was established in 1826 by the Georgia Legislature out of lands formally occupied by the Creek Indians. The area (and city of Leesburg, the county seat) was named for the Revolutionary War General Harry Lee. The county’s heritage can be experienced through a number of monuments and historical sites throughout the area, while restored plantation homes add to the ambiance of this distinctive county.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications