contentsBarrington IL Chamberads

Chamber Awards

BACC Presents Annual Business Awards

Each year during the Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce Annual Dinner & Scholarship Fundraiser, BACC recognizes members and rising stars for the investment they make in our communities. The event, held in January, is a celebration of Chamber accomplishments and people.

That night nearly 200 local business, community and government leaders gather to applaud the annual BACC business award winners. The awards were presented by the 2016 BACC Chairman of the Board Patty Jacobsen of Jensen Jacobsen Insurance & Associates, Inc.

This year BACC presented the Small Business of the Year Award to Douglas Automotive. “Doug McAllister started his career running an Amoco station in Barrington, then serving as fleet manager at Willow Creek Church,” Jacobsen said. “He opened Douglas Automotive in Barrington in 1993 and followed with locations in Crystal Lake and Fox River Grove.”

GYMGUYZ received the chamber’s New Business of the Year award. The BACC Community Partner of the Year award was presented to Barrington Bank & Trust. Barrington Bank & Trust is passionately focused on being a true community bank that serves the Barrington region, Jacobsen noted.

Other awards included the Volunteer of the Year award presented to Suzanne Luby of @properties – The Luby Group. Suzanne is a passionate, high spirited Chamber volunteer who brings energy and enthusiasm to our events, Jacobsen noted.

The BACC Rookie of the Year recipient was Amber Luczak of Edward Jones. The BACC Leadership Award was presented to Lisa Caputo of Morgan Stanley – The Schirmann Group. Lisa’s steadfast dedication and leadership over the past year as the 2015 Chairman of the Board has helped guide us through a successful year, Jacobsen noted.

BACC also recognized the recipients of the BACC Young Entrepreneurs Award during the annual dinner. “We have among us the next generation of savvy business owners. Tonight’s Young Entrepreneur’s Award goes to the Cleat Guard Team from the Barrington High School Business Incubator program,” Jacobsen announced. The Cleat Guard Team included Kat Mena, Laura Mena, Andrea Potgieter, and Xristos Apostolopous.

BACC Honors Five Outstanding Local Women Leaders

The Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce honored five outstanding local women leaders at the 2016 ATHENA Awards Luncheon on Thursday, May 26, at the Biltmore Country Club in North Barrington. The event was hosted by BACC’s Women’s Biz Net (WBN), a network of women business and community leaders.

“The ATHENA Award was created in 1982 to illuminate inspiring women leaders that excel in their profession, give back to their communities, and most importantly, are role models to other women,” said BACC President/CEO Suzanne Corr.

The 2016 BACC/WBN ATHENA nominees honored at the event were Nandia Black, Village President of Kildeer; Deborah Leydig, Owner of Norton’s U.S.A; Susan McConnell, accomplished photographer and Founder of Let It Be Us; Georgeanna Mehr, President of Hoffman Estates Community Bank; and Deborah Rivera, General Manager and Co-owner of Ambroisa Euro American Patisserie. Top sponsors of the BACC ATHENA event were Diamond Sponsors Barrington Bank & Trust Co., N.A., and Quintessential Media Group; and Silver Sponsor BMO Harris Bank.

Women Leaders, continued from page 20

The 2016 ATHENA Award was presented to Deborah Leydig of Norton’s U.S.A. Leydig started her career in fashion design working for Geoffrey Beene, Ellen Tracey and Jones of New York. During the 1980s she switched her focus to graphic design and sold gift wrapping paper to department stores under her designer label. In 1987, she began a professional acting career and after appearing in a play about the decline in American products; she opened Norton’s U.S.A in 2007 in Barrington to help the American worker and manufacturer. Her quest to save the American worker has led to a highly successful storefront and online business all dedicated to made in America products. In her community, Leydig is a loccal business leader and mentor, and has supported many local organizations.

The Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce’s Women’s Biz Net is a network of women empowering women. WBN offers monthly meetings and programs that bring relevant topics, networking opportunities and a forum for building relationships.

WBN’s first ATHENA Leadership Award was presented to Joyce Palmquist, Executive Director of the Barrington Area Council on Aging (BACOA), in November 2012. The 2014 award was presented to Ellaine Sambo-Reyther, Director, Private Wealth Advisor, at BMO Harris Bank. The 2015 ATHENA recipient was Dr. Amy Derick of Derick Dermatology.

BACC Awards $3,500 in scholarships to Local High School Students

The Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce awarded $3,500 in scholarships to seven local high school students during its 39th annual “Spotlight on Barrington’s Stars Luncheon” on April 20 at the Marriott Northwest.

“Each year BACC awards the Lauren Brown Memorial Scholarship to local high school students to help with expenses of higher education that builds future careers,” said BACC President/CEO Suzanne Corr. “The scholarship can be awarded to students attending universities, community colleges, vocational or trade school programs.”

The scholarship is named after Lauren Brown, a lovely young woman who worked for the Chamber for several years and lost her battle with cancer at the age of 29.

Winners of the 2016 BACC Lauren Brown Memorial Scholarship were: Griffin Bailey, Rachel Currie, Abigail Elo, Lance Gasher, Katharine Mena, Laura Mena, and Justin Spiegel.

“The Lauren Brown Memorial Scholarships are funded by Chamber members through many Chamber events such as our BACC Golf Classic, our annual dinner and our Women’s Biz Net activities,” Corr said.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications