Connersville has a responsive mayor-council form of government, with five council members elected from districts, and two additional council members, plus the mayor, elected at large. Government is divided into Administration, Streets and Sanitation, Parks and Recreation, Engineering, Community Development, Clerk-Treasurer, Police, and Fire Departments. A First Aid Unit is funded by both the city and Fayette County and covers the entire county. Emergency 911 service is available throughout the county with centralized dispatching for police, fire and ambulance.

The Connersville Police Department has 36 sworn officers and two civilian staff members. A squad of 22 vehicles chalks up 370,000 miles annually patrolling some 40 miles of city streets.

Police training is emphasized by the Connersville Police Department, which consistently exceeds the state requirement of 16 hours of training each year. Several police officers attend college during off duty hours and many others have college degrees.

The Connersville Fire Department has 39 full-time firefighters and maintains a fire insurance rating of 3. The department operates from three strategically situated station houses and is fully equipped with all modern equipment for effective fire protection of the city. The county is protected by three dedicated volunteer fire departments fully equipped and well trained.

The city provides weekly trash pick up and weekly curbside recycling as well as maintaining a transfer station where large trash items can be discarded.


Next Topic

Previous Topic


Community Profile Network, Inc. &, Inc.

About our Companies

Copyright ©2001 Community Profile Network, Inc.

Town Square Publications and Builder Profile are trademarks of, Inc.

This Site is a Cyberworks Media Group Production