contentsPlymouth/Marshall County IN Chamberads


Marshall County has a population of more than 45,000 and is the home county to Argos, Bourbon, Bremen, Culver, Lapaz, Plymouth, and Tippecanoe.


Plymouth is the county seat of Marshall County. With a population nearing 10,000, Plymouth is also the largest town in Marshall County and was one of the fastest growing communities in Indiana during the 1990s, experiencing growth of over 22 percent.

Founded in 1834, Plymouth was named the Marshall County seat in 1836 and was incorporated in 1851. The first hospital was founded in 1910 and the community library was opened in 1913. Among the many famous residents coming from Plymouth and the surrounding area is Governor Otis R. Bowen (of Bremen), who also served as the Secretary of Health and Human Services under President Ronald Reagan. Other notables include Dr. James Slayter, the inventor of fiberglass; David VanVactor, classical music composer; and Ray Walburn, movie and stage actor.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications













Grace Baptist Church and Christian School
Vanco Development, LLC
Van Vactor Construction, LLC
Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center
Swan Lake Resort
Culver Academies / Culver Summer Schools & Camps