contentsJefferson Area IA Chamberads


The communities in Greene County, Iowa are shining examples of small-town pride in the heartland of America. Jefferson is in the heart of the county and serves as the county seat. Surrounding the county seat are the communities of Adaza, Churdan, Cooper, Dana, Farlin, Grand Junction, Paton, Rippey and Scranton.


Greene County was formally organized in 1854 with a population of 150, and the town of Jefferson, named for President Thomas Jefferson, was chosen as the county seat. The current three-story courthouse, built of Bedford Stone, was the third built here in Jefferson. Completed in 1917 at a cost of just under $180,000, the courthouse features a domed stained glass ceiling, which crowns the rotunda, and continues to house the county offices and court system for a growing population of over 10,000.

With a vast network of railways lacing the area, Greene County realized early on the importance of quality roadways, becoming the first county in the state to entirely pave its section of the now historic transcontinental Lincoln Highway, which spans the county from border to border.

Greene County, Iowa – “Home of the Horn of Plenty” – where the quality of life and peace of mind make it possible for dreams to come true. Whether you are “just passing through” or looking for a place to call “home,” we welcome you.

Jefferson Area Chamber of Commerce
220 N. Chestnut St. • Jefferson, IA 50129
P: 515-386-2155 • F: 515-386-2156

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications









Uptown Cafe
Peony Chinese Restaurant