contentsClay County Kansasads



Top-rate public education is provided to students in Clay County through the Clay County Unified School District #379. Approximately 1,650 students attend the district’s schools, with a certified teaching faculty of around 148 and a staff of 220. USD #379 is comprised of Longford Elementary, Lincoln Elementary, Garfield Elementary, Clay Center Community Middle School, Wakefield High School and Clay Center Community High School.

Alternatives to public education can be found in the county’s surrounding communities, including Miltonvale, Randolph, Linn, Clyde, Chapman and Junction City.

A number of higher education facilities are within an easy driving distance from the region. These include Kansas State University, Cloud County College, Fort Hays State University, Bethany College, Kansas Wesleyan University, North Central Kansas Technical College and Brown-Mackie College, among others.

In addition to these excellent educational opportunities, the Kansas Industrial Training Program and the State of Kansas Investments in Lifelong Learning Program are available resources for workforce training.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications