contentsIron Countyads


The governmental structure of Iron County is comprised of several layers, each accountable for a specific aspect of the services provided to and for the area’s residents and businesses.

government building

The county is governed by the five-person Iron County Board of Commissioners, which is made up of one person from each district. Meeting twice each month, the Board oversees a handful of committees, including Finance, County Administration, Public Safety, Economic Development, Senior Citizen Services and Health & Human Services. Most of the county offices are located in the historic County Courthouse in Crystal Falls.

Also a part of county government are several additional Boards and Commissions, such as the Planning Commission, Authority on Aging, Brownfield Redevelopment Authority Board, the Building Authority and the Construction Code Board of Appeals.

Separate township governments are in place as well with a Supervisor, Clerk, Treasurer, two Trustees and a Board of Review in the townships of Bates, Crystal Falls, Hematite,
Iron River, Mansfield, Mastodon and Stambaugh. In addition, there are municipal officials for each of the communities situated within Iron County including a Mayor, City Manager, City Treasurer, Assessor, Police Chief, Fire Chief, City Council (or Commissioners) and a Board of Review.

police car

Public safety is ensured by the Sheriff’s Department, the Michigan State Police, the Department of Natural Resources, the Caspian Police Department, Crystal Falls Police Department and the Iron River Police Department, along with the Alpha/Mastodon, ­­­Caspian/Gaastra, Crystal Falls and West Iron County Fire Departments.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications