contentsCollege Searchads

Enter your ZIP or Postal code to find schools near you. Your dream major may be just around the corner!


computer class

Excellence in education at all levels is a cornerstone of South County life. The area is served by five public school systems: Affton School District, Bayless School District, Hancock Place School District, Lindbergh School District and Mehlville School District. The high-quality learning opportunities provided by these districts is second to none. Through the leadership of dedicated faculty, staff and school board members, along with the active participation of parents, the educational success of each student is assured.

Mehlville School District (MSD) serves all or portions of the unincorporated communities of Mehlville, Oakville, Concord and Lemay. Currently, the district enrolls approximately 12,000 students within 17 facilities—10 elementary schools, four middle schools, one high school and an early childhood center. For the last three years, MSD has earned the “Distinction in Performance” recognition from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

debate team

The district is among 330 public school districts in the state to earn this award, which is based on such performance standards as state-mandated MAP test scores, ACT scores, attendance and graduation rates. This marked the fifth time in the past six years that MSD has received this prestigious accolade.

MSD’s Oakville High School (OHS) serves approximately 2,150 students graduating from Oakville and Washington Junior High schools. The OHS campus’ focal point is the stunning three-story Arthur Voerg Commons gathering place, which is complemented by a lighted athletic stadium and modern science and technology facilities.

Nearly 2,000 students attend Mehlville High School, the district’s most utilized campus. The school houses a swimming pool; a newer science wing; and an advanced technological infrastructure that includes Internet access, a computer lab and synchronized technology throughout the facility.


Beyond the traditional curriculum, the high school offers an IEP diploma program for students with special educational needs; the Challenge Program for gifted students; and advanced placement courses through major institutions of higher learning including St. Louis University, University of Missouri at St. Louis, Missouri Baptist College and St. Louis Community College.

MSD and other local school districts provide exceptional technical and vocational education for high school students interested in exploring a variety of career-related industries. In addition, the Special School District of St. Louis County (SSD) provides special education services to students with disabilities.

kids on school

Alternatives to the public school systems in South County are available through a host of private institutions. Lutheran High School, Vianney High School for boys, Notre Dame for girls and Thomas Jefferson School are among the many options for college preparatory coursework for grades 7-12.

Students choosing to continue the path of learning to higher education have a choice of a number of area colleges and universities. Continuing education programs designed for either personal or professional development are available at the South County Education and University Center—an off-campus location of St. Louis Community College—Meramec. This full-service facility enrolls more than 3,000 students every semester.

Area Colleges and Universities

Fontbonne College
Harris-Stowe State College
Lindenwood College
Maryville University of St. Louis
McKendree College
Missouri Baptist College
Principia College
Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
Saint Louis University
University of Missouri-St. Louis
Washington University
Webster University

Area Two-Year and Community Colleges

Belleville Area College (three campuses)
East Central College
Jefferson College
Kaskaskia College
Lewis and Clark Community College
Metropolitan Community College
St. Charles County Community College
St. Louis Community College (three campuses)

Area Professional Schools

Logan College of Chiropractic
Saint Louis University School of Law
Saint Louis University School of Medicine
Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville School of Dental Medicine
St. Louis College of Pharmacy
University of Missouri-St. Louis School of Optometry
Washington University School of Law
Washington University School of Medicine

Area Graduate Schools

Fontbonne College
Keller Graduate School of Management
Lindenwood University
Maryville University
Saint Louis University
Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
University of Missouri-St. Louis
Washington University
Webster University

Area Technical and Vocational Schools

DeVry Institute of Technology
Midwestern Training Center
Mildred Louis Business School
Missouri College
Phillips Junior College
Ranken Technical College
Sanford-Brown College
TAD Technical Institute
Vatterott College

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications
St. Louis Community College