contentsSouth County MO Chamberads

Public Safety

The Mehlville Fire Protection District,
St. Louis CountyPolice

The communities of South St. Louis County had little in the way of quality fire protection before 1930. With the forming of the Mehlville Improvement Association that same year, the group worked to create the much needed fire service. In 1934, Charles Feltz donated a 1925 Ford Model T equipped with a farm-style irrigation pump. By 1936, through major fundraising efforts, the association was able to purchase a 1919 American LaFrance pumper from the St. Louis Fire Department. After that pumper was destroyed in an accident, the association purchased a new pumper from the Central Fire Truck Company in 1940.

The all-volunteer fire department functioned until 1953 when firefighters proposed and organized a fire district. By the end of that year, voters approved the formation of the Mehlville Fire Protection District (MFPD) in order to accommodate a growing population.

Today, the MFPD (ISO 3 Rating) operates out of seven strategically placed stations in order to provide quick response to those residents and businesses located within the district boundaries. The firefighters and paramedics employed by the MFPD provide high-quality fire, rescue, emergency medical, fire prevention and inspection services to a coverage area of 52 square miles and a population of more than 110,000 people – a number that grows to 130,000-plus during the day.

The St. Louis County Police Department serves its communities and citizens with the highest of expectations for the values of its employees. Their mission statement makes clear their reason for existence and the IACPLaw Enforcement Codes of Ethics and their statement of values and civilian codes of ethics clearly identify the guidelines within which they will accomplish their mission.

The history of the St. Louis County Police Department goes back to 1995, when the department was formed to serve the growing needs of the citizens of the county. Now with an authorized strength of over 835 commissioned officers as well as over 250 civilian members, the department is divided into four divisions, each with a special role to play in our daily mission:To serve and protect the citizens and visitors of St. Louis County.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications