contentsCape May County NJ Chamberads


Each of Cape May County’s 16 municipalities is unique in size, population and government. The county has four townships – Upper, Middle, Lower and Dennis; seven boroughs – Avalon, Cape May Point, Stone Harbor, West Cape May, West Wildwood, Wildwood Crest and Woodbine, and five cities – Cape May, Ocean City, Sea Isle City, North Wildwood and Wildwood.

The county is governed by the Board of Chosen Freeholders – a five-member elected board, as it has been for more than 300 years.

The majority of county offices and services are located in the Crest Haven Complex in Middle Township located at exit 11 off the Garden State Parkway. The county clerk, surrogate and court offices are located on Main Street (Route 9) in Cape May Court House.

The Cape May County Park and Zoo, located on Route 9 in Cape May Court House is considered by many as the best zoo in the mid-Atlantic region. The zoo is home to over 100 species of animals including lions, bears, camel, otters, and an Aviary.

The park features picnic areas, a playground, nature trails, bike paths, baseball fields, and fresh water fishing. The park and zoo are open daily, closed only on Christmas Day. Cape May County Park/North located in Upper Township and Cape May County Park/South located in Middle Township offer recreation fields and playgrounds.

Detailed information about the Cape May County government, services and programs is available at The Cape May County Municipal Utilities Authority ( is responsible for waste water treatment, recycling and other related programs throughout the county.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications