contentsElizabeth NJ Chamberads



The city of Elizabeth operates under a mayor-council form of government. In addition to the mayor, there are nine council members, six of whom are ward representatives and three that serve at-large. Both mayor and council members are elected to serve four-year terms. City council meetings are generally held the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m.

City Hall is located at 50 Winfield Scott Plaza in the historic Midtown District. Elizabeth is also the county seat, with the Union County Administration Building and the County Courthouse located within the Midtown District at Rahway Avenue and South Broad Street.


The Elizabeth Development Company, which administers the city’s Urban Enterprise Zone Program and many helpful business programs and incentives, is located on North Broad Street and Westfield Avenue.

The Greater Elizabeth Chamber of Commerce is the champion of its robust citywide business community. There are two merchant associations, the Midtown Special Improvement District and the Elizabeth Avenue Partnership, that play important roles in the area’s major business districts.


The award-winning Elizabeth Public Library serves the city’s community with several branches, bookmobile service and its newly renovated Main Branch on 11 S. Broad Street. Its computer offerings are considered among the most impressive in the state.

The Police Department/Municipal Court Complex is located at 1 Police Plaza (East Grand St.), off Broad Street in Midtown, and the Main Post Office, considered an architectural masterpiece, is located at N. Broad Street and Westfield Avenue.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications