graphicWelcome to Catawba County, part of North Carolina’s fourth largest metropolitan area. Our area is an exciting example of southern hospitality, prosperity and success. Offering a setting of natural beauty during all four seasons, Catawba County is an ideal place to live, work, play, raise a family, and retire.

Catawba County is made of eight municipalities: Hickory, Newton, Conover, Maiden, Claremont, Long View, Brookford and Catawba. More than 75 percent of the county’s residents live in or near these towns. Of these eight cities, Hickory is the largest with approximately 37,222 residents. It has twice received the prestigious All-American City award that recognizes innovative projects and outstanding citizens. The next largest populated center is Newton, the county seat, with 12,560 residents. Conover, a neighboring city, has nearly 6,604 people.

The Hickory Metropolitan Statistical Area, which includes Catawba, Alexander, Burke and Caldwell Counties, has a population of approximately 341,851. This four-county region is the fourth largest metropolitan statistical area (MSA) in the state following Charlotte, Raleigh-Durham and Greensboro-Winston-Salem.

Residents of Catawba County enjoy a high standard of living. Dedication, cooperation and innovation from area businesses and civic leaders provide continued growth and prosperity. The people of Catawba County actively promote the arts, education, and healthcare to ensure the finest lifestyle for all.

Catawba County has it all - beautiful climate, challenging places to work, diverse cultures, a vast array of recreational opportunities, arts and culture, and an unparalleled southern lifestyle.

Next Topic

Previous Topic


Community Profile Network, Inc. &, Inc.

About our Company

Copyright ©2001 Community Profile Network, Inc.

Town Square Publications and Builder Profile are trademarks of, Inc.

This Site is a Cyberworks Media Group Production