Lawrence County (South Point), OH Chamber of Commerce
Lawrence County (South Point), OH Chamber of Commerce

In the Spirit of Things

Some of the earliest churches were built in Ironton. The First United Presbyterian Church is a Richardsonian Romanesque brick, first built in 1873 and rebuilt in 1882. The present sanctuary was added in 1893. The ceiling beams are unique, since they were built like an inverted ship to support the roof without a center column.

St. Paul Lutheran Church is a one-story brick built in 1903. The German Lutherans first organized in Hanging Rock in 1844 and built their first church in 1859.

St. Lawrence O’Toole Catholic Church is a T-shaped Gothic-style church dedicated in 1892. The structure includes two twin towers in the front and stained glass windows imported from Rome. An 81-year-old painter by the name of Obediah K. Kover painted the canvas on the church’s ceiling.

Lawrence County (South Point), OH Chamber of Commerce

The First Methodist Church was erected in 1893 to replace Spencer Chapel, which was the original church of the congregation that was built in 1852. The present structure is a Victorian Gothic brick and has an irregular shape plan with a bell tower over the front door.

The Christ Episcopal Church was organized in 1854 and the present Goth Revival structure was erected in 1896.

The First Congregational Church is home to the Gateway Baptist congregation. It is an American Gothic-style building and was built in 1873.

Presently, Lawrence County is represented by all major denominations including AME, Apostolic, Assemblies of God, Baptist, Catholic, Church of Christ in Christian Union, Church of God, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Church of the Nazarene, Episcopal, Lutheran, Pentecostal, Presbyterian, Methodist, and churches of several more denominations making a total of 56 churches.


Lawrence County (South Point), OH Chamber of Commerce

About our Company | Community Home Page | State Home Page

Copyright ©2006 Town Square Publications