Learning to Succeed

There are four school districts within Pike County: Waverly City School District, the Scioto Valley Local School District, Eastern Local School District, and Western Local School District. All have brand new buildings and are committed to providing excellence in education.

Pike County education at a glance:
Public schools: 14
Students: 5,446
Teachers: 364
Student-teacher ratio: 15.1
Non-public schools: 2
Students: 114
Public libraries: 1
Branch libraries: 3

Pike County Career and Technology Center in Piketon was the first Joint Vocational School in Ohio and boasts several winners of national competitions over the years. Course offerings include Engineering Technology, Diversified Health Occupations, Welding, Carpentry, Basic Food Service/Hospitality & Facility Care, and Building Maintenance.

Nearby Shawnee State University offers four-year degree programs and collaborates with local businesses to develop specific skills through its Tech Prep program.

Ohio University has a branch located just north of the county, in Chillicothe. The main campuses of Ohio University in Athens and The Ohio State University in Columbus are less than two hours away.


About our Company

Copyright ©2006 Town Square Publications