History of Monroe Falls

graphic

During the War of 1812, trails that were developed along the northern bank of the Cuyahoga River were used to transport supplies and recruits. Following the war, settlers began to build their homes there to make use of the industrial waterpower. A log dam was constructed in 1817, followed by a sawmill and a gristmill the next year. Soon, the village of Florence was established.
graphic

The Munroe Brothers of Boston purchased 200 acres of land in Florence in 1836, and changed the name to Munroe Falls. The brothers also formed the "Munroe Falls Manufacturing Company," which manufactured a variety of products and helped the village thrive and become incorporated in 1838.

In 1846, the Munroe Brothers went out of business but the gristmill was bought and renovated by another company and continued to help the village thrive. Munroe Falls never became a busy industrial center, but it continues to grow at a pace that allows the city to keep its small town atmosphere and preserve its rich history. graphic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next Topic

Previous Topic

 


Community Profile Network, Inc. &
VillageProfile.com, Inc.

About our Company

Copyright ©2001 Community Profile Network, Inc.

Town Square Publications and Builder Profile are trademarks of VillageProfile.com, Inc.

This Site is a Cyberworks Media Group Production