contentsWorthington OH Chamberads



The City of Worthington has operated under a council-manager form of government since its charter in 1956. A city manager, appointed by a seven-member city council, serves as the chief administrative official of the city. The city manager implements city council policy decisions, appoints city employees and is responsible for the preparation and administration of the city’s operating and capital budgets. Matt Greeson has served as Worthington’s city manager since 2007. Robyn Stewart serves as assistant city manager.

Council members are elected by the populace for four-year terms on an at-large, nonpartisan basis. City Council members elected in November take office the following January. The council selects a president, who presides over council meetings, and a president pro-tem, who assumes the duties of the president in his/her absence. These positions are elected for two-year terms. Members of City Council include Louis J.R. Goorey, M.D., president; Bonnie Michael, president pro-tem; Robert Chosy, M.D.; Joe Davis; Rachael Dorothy; Scott Myers; and Doug Smith.

City Hall in Worthington

A familiar face at many Chamber-member ribbon cuttings and community events is that of Mayor Harvey Minton. The mayor is appointed by Worthington City Council for a two-year term and has, as his primary responsibility, the administration of Mayor’s Court. The mayor presides over many civic functions as the ceremonial head of the community. Mayor Minton, an attorney with offices in Worthington, has been a resident of Worthington since 1986.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications