Enter name or type of business
Enter city & state, or ZIP
contentsCorvallis OR Chamberads


City of Corvallis

city hall

Corvallis is governed by a Council/Manager form of government in accordance with the Home Rule charter adopted by the voters in 1949. The nine-member City Council is elected by geographical wards to serve two-year terms as the governing body for Corvallis. The Mayor presides at Council meetings and is elected at-large for a four-year term. The Mayor and Council provide community leadership, develop policies to guide the city in delivering services and achieving community goals, and encourage citizen awareness and involvement. To learn more about Corvallis city government, visit www.ci.corvallis.or.us or call (541) 766-6900.


Benton County’s mission is: “Making Benton County a better place to live. Benton County government brings to its citizenry the authority, structure and services to respond to public concerns and opportunities and provide a means for local decision-making.”

Benton County is one of nine home-rule charter counties in Oregon, which provide greater local governance control to citizens. The county has three full-time Commissioners to manage the legislative, executive and quasi-judicial responsibilities. The Commissioners are elected at-large to four-year terms. Other elected county officials are the Sheriff and District Attorney.

Corvallis is the seat and the largest city in Benton County. Other incorporated cities in Benton County are Adair Village, Philomath, Monroe and North Albany.

To learn more about Benton County, visit www.co.benton.or.us or call (541) 766-6800.eDistribution of Property Taxes

Benton County assesses property and collects property taxes for over 50 taxing districts including cities, schools and community colleges, road, fire and other special purpose districts (Chart 1). Only a portion of property taxes imposed and collected by the county support Benton County government operations (Chart 2).

Total Taxes Imposed in 2008: $101,202,755

Chart 1: Distribution of property taxes imposed (billed to taxpayers) for 2008 by taxing district type.

Benton County Property Tax Dollars

Road Districts: .2¢

Misc. Districts: .8¢

Library District: 2.2¢

Fire Districts: 3.2¢

Benton County: 19.0¢

Cities: 27.0¢

Education: 47.6¢

After subtraction of delinquencies and discounts, Benton County will net approximately $18.2 million in property taxes to support county government services in the second year of the 2007-09 biennium budget.

Chart 2: Distribution of property taxes to Benton County government services in the 2007-09 adopted biennium budget.

Source: Benton County Finance Department


previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications