contentsTri-County SC Chamberads

Welcome to the Tri-County Area

Welcome to the Tri-County Area

The Tri-County region of South Carolina is comprised of Berkeley, Dorchester and Orangeburg counties. Its radius spans 20 to 25 miles where the three counties meet, and covers nine incorporated municipalities and several wonderful residential communities.

Bowman — 1,169
Branchville — 1,043
Cross — 4,659
Elloree — 703
Eutawville — 331
Harleyville — 692
Holly Hill — 1,355
Reevesville — 211
Ridgeville — 2,026
St. George — 2,120
Santee — 717
Vance — 200

Berkeley — 152,282
Dorchester — 118,979 Orangeburg — 90,845

For more information on the area’s demographics, log on to

Adjacent to Charleston, one of South Carolina’s biggest cities, Berkeley County lies in the southeastern portion of the state.

Berkeley County has a nice balance of work and play. Home to countless tourism attractions — the county is a popular fishing and hunting destination — some of its strengths lie in the areas of manufacturing, agriculture and industry. Several big-name companies currently have operations in Berkeley County, including Amoco, Bayer, Nucor and Quoizel. Currently, Google is developing a vast facility in Berkeley County.

Moncks Corner serves as Berkeley’s county seat. Other municipalities include Bonneau, Goose Creek, Hanahan, Jamestown, and St. Stephens. The county is also home to a portion of Summerville.

Dorchester County in southeastern South Carolina has a lot going for it, such as a strong and growing business climate, quality healthcare, schools and homes.

Home to St. George, its county seat, and Summerville, its largest city, Dorchester County has prospered economically in recent years, and Summerville has been a beneficiary. With an estimated labor force of more than 245,000 in Summerville, coupled with the county’s overall strong retail statistics, it is easy to see why this is the second fastest growing county in South Carolina.

The municipalities of Harleyville, Reevesville, Ridgeville, St. George and Summerville all lie within the borders of Dorchester County.

Along with its neighboring counties, Orangeburg County has also found success in the area of economic development. A 445-acre industrial park recently built at the intersection of Interstate 26 and U.S. Highway 301 has paved the way for a stronger economic base in the City of Orangeburg and Orangeburg County.

More projects are in the works for the county, which figures to draw people to the county.

Orangeburg’s municipalities include Bowman, Branchville, Cope, Cordova, Elloree, Eutawville, Holly Hill, North, Santee, St. Mathews and Vance all call Orangeburg County home.

Average daily high: — 75.5
Average daily low: — 54.2
Average annual precipitation: — 51.59 inches

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications
Town of St. George