graphicLoudoun County is governed by a nine-member Board of Supervisors. Board members, who serve concurrent four-year terms, are elected by voters in each of the county’s eight election districts, while the chairman is elected at-large. Loudoun’s Board of Supervisors sets county policies, adopts ordinances, appropriates funds, approves land rezonings and special exceptions to the zoning ordinance; and carries out other responsibilities set forth by the State Code.

The Board of Supervisors appoints the County Administrator, who manages county operations; the Planning Commission, which advises county leaders on land-use issues; the Library Board of Trustees, which oversees public library operations; and various other boards and commissions. The Board also encourages public participation in the decision-making process. A "public comments" segment is planned into every regular Board meeting. In addition, residents and others may testify on issues at public hearings by registering to speak with the Clerk to the Board.

The Loudoun County Department of Fire and Rescue coordinates fire and emergency medical services, including fire prevention, hazardous materials, and other safety programs. Loudoun’s 17 volunteer fire and rescue companies are the primary fire and rescue service providers for the county. In turn, the Department provides administration and training for the volunteer companies and coordinates disaster planning, emergency dispatch, safety education, and related emergency support services.

Our fire and rescue personnel and volunteers serve the county tirelessly, as do our law enforcement and crime prevention personnel. The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office serves Loudoun County citizens and visitors 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The office provides around-the-clock patrols, enforces laws, responds to emergency calls, investigates crimes, and operates the Adult Detention Center, the county jails, and the county’s work release programs. The Sheriff’s Office also works closely with the county’s schools and residents, offering such crime prevention programs as the Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE) program, McGruff Safety Camp, Neighborhood Watch, and complimentary fingerprinting/ID services. In addition to the County Sheriff’s Office, Leesburg, Middleburg and Purcellville each have established town police departments.

Working cooperatively, Loudoun County’s government, law enforcement and safety officials and volunteers work continuously to preserve the county’s reputation for beauty, safety and diversity.


Next Topic

Previous Topic


Community Profile Network, Inc. &, Inc.

About our Company

Copyright ©2001 Community Profile Network, Inc.

Town Square Publications and Builder Profile are trademarks of, Inc.

This Site is a Cyberworks Media Group Production