contentsLouisa County VA Chamberads

Government Services

Residents of Louisa County are fortunate to be led by dedicated, forward-thinking leaders at the local and county levels. The governing bodies work closely with the community by providing quality public services and programs, thus enhancing the area’s quality of life. Citizen participation is highly encouraged, especially at meetings of the County Board of Supervisors and the Town Councils of Louisa and Mineral.

County of Louisa

The County of Louisa was created in 1742 and named for Princess Louisa, King George II of England’s youngest daughter. A seven-member Board of Supervisors governs the County. Members are elected to four-year terms and represent each of the County’s voting districts. The Board meets the first and third Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the Louisa County Administration Building’s Public Meeting Room, located on Woolfolk Ave. in the Town of Louisa. Several appointed commissions and committees support the Board of Supervisors. County government is composed of various departments and offices, which includes County Administration, Community Development, County Attorney, Economic Development, Fire & Emergency Services, Parks & Recreation, Information Technology and General Services. Learn more about the County of Louisa at, or by calling (540) 967-0401.

Town of Louisa

Designated the county seat of government and part of the Thomas Jefferson Planning District, the Town of Louisa is a modest community of approximately 1,500 residents. Louisa was officially established in March 1873 and has instituted a Town Council/Manager form of government. A Mayor, Vice Mayor and four council members comprise the Town Council, which gathers the third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Town Office, located at 212 Fredericksburg Ave. Other elected and appointed officials include the Town Manager, Town Clerk, Town Attorney, Police Chief, Treasurer, General Superintendent, Zoning Administrator, Planning Commission Chairman and Industrial Development Authority Chairman. Further information on the Town of Louisa is found at, or call (540) 967-1400.

Town of Mineral

The Town of Mineral was incorporated in 1902 and is currently home to more than 420 residents. A Town Council comprised of the Mayor, Vice Mayor and five council members oversees the community. The Council meets regularly on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Church of The Incarnation’s Noel Hall. The Town also employs a staff made up of the Town Manager, Town Attorney, Town Clerk, Town Maintenance staff and a DMV staff, along with a seven-member Planning Commission. The Town is an affiliate of the Virginia Department of Housing & Community Development’s Virginia Main Street Program, a revitalization initiative. For more information on the Town of Mineral, referred to as the Gateway to Lake Anna, visit, or call (540) 894-5100.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications