contentsJefferson WI Chamberads



The City of Jefferson is run by a Mayor/Council form of government that consists of the Mayor and eight Council members. The city administrator oversees the day-to-day operation of city hall. The Council is made up of four Alderperson-at-Large positions and four District Alderperson positions. The mayor and Council members are elected on a non-partisan basis for overlapping two-year terms.

For more information about the Council members and the Council’s standing committees, visit the City of Jefferson website at

Jefferson Police Department

Jefferson Police Department The City of Jefferson Police Department is composed of a staff of 14 sworn personnel augmented by four dispatchers, two support staff members and six part-time sworn officers. The City’s police service is 24 hours a day, with a minimum of two officers per shift. In addition to crime prevention, the Jefferson Police Department participates and sponsors many community programs and events, including Crime Stoppers, the Bicycle Rodeo and Kid Care Identification, and Project Child Safe.

Jefferson Fire Department Fire protection is offered through the Jefferson Fire Department, which operates with 43 volunteer firefighters. The department’s equipment includes four pumpers, two tankers, platform aerial ladder with pumper and a van.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications