contentsWinnebao County IL Regional Planning & EDCads

Winnebago County Education


Winnebago County has a strong tradition of excellence in education. More than 10 school districts ensure the learning foundation of students from preschool through high school, and several area colleges provide the opportunity for continued learning through higher education.

Primary and secondary schools in Winnebago County stress academic basics while fostering independent thinking, problem solving skills and commitment to continued learning. Specialized learning tracks in high school allow students to emphasize academics and prepare for college or university or direct their interests toward a vocational or technical career. Several private and parochial schools in the area set the standards for exceptional education as well.


Not many colleges have a Nobel laureate, but Rockford College does - her name was Jane Addams. Long before she won the 1930 Nobel Peace Prize, she was a Rockford College student. Today, Rockford College enrolls 1,200 students from more than 20 countries around the world.

This accredited private, co-ed institution provides degree tracks leading to bachelor’s degrees in more than 30 different fields, as well as graduate programs in teaching and business administration. Other four-year colleges in the region include Beloit (WI) College and Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, IL, which has facilities in Rockford.

Rock Valley College is a community college, which provides quality, accessible, lifelong learning opportunities, cultural enrichment, and support for economic and technological development. In 1985, the college opened its Technology Center (later renamed the Woodward Technology Center), which includes several electronics labs, a CNC lab and many other engineering labs.


RVC also has its own electronic learning environment called EdNet. Among the college’s more notable features is the Bengt Sjostrom Theatre, which received critical acclaim in 2004 for its kinetic roof.

Rockford Business College offers nearly 25 programs, all in areas with exceptional career opportunities. Programs are in tune with the needs of area employers to make sure the skills they need are the skills you learn. RBC programs lead to two-year Associate of Applied Science (AAS) degrees, one-year diplomas and short-term certificates.

Rasmussen is a newer Rockford institution offering educational programs that teach the practical career skills sought by today’s employers.


From its simple beginnings as a small business college, Rasmussen has experienced a century of growth and now operates eight campuses that serve over 2,000 students in Minnesota, Illinois and Wisconsin. Over 40 programs are offered, including the recently added Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management.

Also new on the scene is a branch of Upper Iowa University which opened in spring of 2008 in Cherry Valley, IL. The university has 750 students on its main campus but more than 6,000 students at satellite locations in Iowa, Kansas, Texas, Louisiana and Wisconsin. This is its first Illinois site.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications