Government and Library

The City of Maumee is a home-rule municipal corporation created under the laws of the State of Ohio. The City operates under its own Charter, which provides for a Council/Mayor form of government.

police department

Legislative authority is vested in a seven-member City Council. All members are elected at-large for four year terms. The Council establishes compensation of City officials and employees and enacts ordinances and resolutions relating to City services, tax levies, the appropriation and borrowing of money, the licensing and regulation of businesses and trades and other municipal purposes. The presiding officer is the Mayor, who has no vote unless there is a tie vote of the members of Council.

The Mayor is elected by the voters specifically to that office for a four-year term. The Mayor appoints, subject to the approval of Council, all the directors of the City’s departments.


Maumee Branch Library
In January 1918, the Maumee Library opened its doors as the first Lucas County library. In 1930, the library was expanded to develop a separate children’s area. During the next 30 years, three more additions, one of which was an auditorium, would be added - making it the County’s largest library.

The library is open to all Ohio residents free of charge. Hours of operation are Monday-Thursday, 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., and Friday - Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. For additional information, call (419) 259-5360.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications